As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Elektron Gear ghost snares (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: ghost snares
Yoshi
MDUW MKII + MnM MKII + OT DPS-1
http://soundcloud.com/earsmack
Re:ghost snares 14 Years, 11 Months ago
I'm down!
  The topic has been locked.
Goomba
Re:ghost snares 14 Years, 7 Months ago
First of all, hi to everybody...
I'm new to the MD beast, bought it two days ago
I live in Toulouse, France, and try to make dub/tek/jungle/minimal/weird electronic music.

I have a little question regarding p-locks and LFO...
(couldn't find anything in the manual)

Last night I was trying to make both real and ghost snares on the same track, first, to save one track, and second, to keep tracks coherence with other tracks or kits (e.g. snares always on the same track).

So for example, my main snares hits are 11 and 16, and the ghost ntoes are 2, 4, 6... 14 (syncopes in french).
I p-lock 11 and 16 with high volume, and I tweak volume down for the track (thus, for all other steps), so I have my ghost notes, but very unnatural!
Then I put the track LFO (random) on volume track.

My question is : why does LFO alter steps 11 and 16 volume, although they are p-locked?
This is not a big problem, because the value of the LFO is added to the p-locked value, so if I choose a little depth, there is little change, and it's OK.
But if I want a bigger depth to have deeper variations on ghost notes, there is too much alteration on the real snares.

I wanted to try accents on 11 and 16, but I guess I'll have the same result (not at home at the moment).

Anyone uses this method for ghost notes?

Thanks!!
Game & Watch
takadoum wrote:

Thanks!!

Why not use a seperate track?
King Koopa
Hi,