As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Elektron Gear Re: Monomachine: Dynamix (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: Re: Monomachine: Dynamix
Admin
OT, MD-UW Mk2, SFX-60 Mk2, SFX-6
scottkellogg.com
Monomachine: Dynamix 18 Years, 11 Months ago
Hello,

I am planning to drive Reason 3 from the MIDI tracks of my Monomachine. In order to simplify setup and not have to use a mixer, I want to run the output of Reason into an Input FX machine on Track 5, and run the entire mix of all tracks through a Dynamix FX machine running on Track 6:

Track 1: Inst A
Track 2: Inst B
Track 3: Inst C
Track 4: Inst D
Track 5: Input FX (Reason master output)
Track 6: Dynamix FX (input bus AB, where tracks 1-5 are outputting on bus A

I will be able to control the overall level and character of the sound by using this schema, but I'm not very experienced with either compressors generally or the Dynamix specifically, so I am looking for some discussion of ramifications of my plan that haven't occurred to me.

I'll be able to map some interesting track parameters to the joystick on Track 6, thus being able to do some radical timbre shifts on the whole mix at one time. DJ-style EQ kills, anyone? Niiiiice.

New 100% Monomachine Glaive track here: http://www.glaive.org/mp3/glaive_define_it.mp3.
  The topic has been locked.
Hammer Bro
Re: Monomachine: Dynamix 18 Years, 11 Months ago
It depends on what sort of stuff you're sending to the MnM from reason. If it's a few tracks of drums, routing the master bus through the dynamix would be great. But if you have, for example, a drum track together with a pad sound, you might not be thrilled with the pumping that could occur...or maybe that's the sound you're going for. So how good of an idea this is depends on what you're sending on the reason mix, and what kind of dynamics artifacts you like.
Admin
scottkellogg.com