As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Elektron Lounge procastination (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: procastination
Chain Chomp
procastination 11 Years, 10 Months ago
I have been working a deskjob for the past seven months, fulltime, and it has altered the way I use my studio, instead of calm and structured experimentation and production.. I've been doing these short bursts of improvisation and wasting the rest of my spare time sitting on the couch downstairs with the playstation or an acoustic guitar..

..there are no jobs where I live, so I have to feel lucky to keep this desk madness for a while. It pays my bills and keeps life simple and predictable. I want a change, but that will take time and I am too amitious to just shut up and do my job like a drone!

My concerns are inspiration and motivation.. I have been reading self-help/procastination tips on structuring creativity and how to combine it with boring mindless office work, but it left me even less motivated.

Anybody here willing to share how their lives work, combining a full time non musical deskjob with their semi-professional homestudio? I need some tips and some power from you guys to keep my head up and back straight for the next year

thanks, sander
  The topic has been locked.
Yoshi
Re:procastination 11 Years, 10 Months ago
Nah, but I can give you tips on how to procrastinate, I'm world class in that regard, like right now for example.
working 9-5 in an office is just very tiring. i go through periods when i can't be bothered to work on any music too. but i do find that if i force yourself to sit down and start tinkering with the boxes, then i get caught up in it and will usually come away having made something, however small.